Companions on my Journey in the World of Aging

99

If I count the beginning of my journey into aging as my 65th birthday when I officially was placed in the demographic “check the over 65” box, then my road has been 32 years long. And what trip into both the known and unknown it has been. I’d seen others make the journey and read a lot about what the road and the territory would be like. But as with any journey, one’s personal road experience is much more vivid, filled with both the expected and surprises.

Sharing the first years of the journey with my husband, our sons and then their wives and daughters made for a secure and joyous experience. The experience of traveling solo, when he died was literally a first for me. It was not that I lacked for support from my family, but the day to day travel was suddenly so different. It took time to learn that I could be “good company” to myself and that solitude could be a positive experience.

Over the years as my ARCs (age related changes) crept in and accumulated, the edges of the world I could travel in also shrank. I became increasingly dependent on fellow travelers coming into my world, rather than my being able to move along on their roads.

And here is where more of aging’s surprises occurred. Companions appeared on the road to walk with me, both in the real and virtual world. I found friendships blooming in both worlds. By now, all of my companions are at least one generation younger than I, many three or four. And my companions turned out to be so thoughtful, generous and often exhilarating.

I’m fortunate that my sons and their families live geographically close. But beyond that, as family and individuals they have remained personally close to the point where we comfortably share parts of our lives, even though they have busy lives of their own. Importantly, they make me feel enjoyed and genuinely, thoughtfully included. What a gift that is!

I’ve also experienced other fellow travelers.   They not only share the journey, but offer so much more.   I have skilled cooks who provide food care packages, a man who keeps my hummingbird feeder cleaned and filled—dead heads the garden and sees other things that need attention, a woman who unfailingly keeps me supplied with library books that suit my reading taste, someone who now does my grocery shopping for me (I still cook-from-scratch). I have a primary care giver who drops over every morning to see “What needs doing?” and smoothly makes that day go well, checks the status of the house and negotiates with contractors for services needed if he can’t fix it—in other words, gives me security. The son and family who travel more have taken me along as a member of the family and make the adaptations needed to permit me to go.

Perhaps the greatest surprise of all has been that at 95, professional colleagues from my university reestablished contact with me as an emerita. The result has been my returning to use my brain in ways I wouldn’t have dreamed possible. It started with my dubious venturing into writing this blog,   Then at 96 it bloomed in to participation in a project to further study and utilize the Engaging with Aging approach to daily living with advancing years.   These colleagues not only come to my house for meetings, but bring food as well. Students and faculty have joined me on my journey and have made side excursions possible that I wouldn’t have dreamed of.

At 97 I look back at my trekking in the world of aging and see its surprising twists, turns and challenges.   I cherish and am amazed at the generosity and companionship of those who have offered to walk with me. They’ve not only kept me green and growing but made it a time of unanticipated support, caring, struggle, growth and joy.

For readers who are yet-to-be-ageds, don’t underestimate the value of your sharing the road with those of us who have been on it longer. You enable us to thrive.

8 thoughts on “Companions on my Journey in the World of Aging

  1. Though I am not yet in that 65+ category to which you refer, I feel like you have been the one to walk with me. Or, rather, that we just have been walking together for many years, side by side. Sometimes, perhaps I rush off on a side path for a bit, and sometimes you tell me about something I should anticipate up ahead, but mainly we are just in a comfortable amble together. Thank you so much!

    Like

  2. Our relationship started when I was 18 and has continued over 55 years, first as a cherished professor then as a friend and then a special friend. You have helped me learn, helped me figure out the best course forward, listened to me, shared with me your family and yourself. I love your blog and find your tips to dealing with ARC helpful to many of those I now live with in a retirement community. I envy your aging with only ARC and hope I will recognize the ARC over disease related changes, although many of your discoveries apply to disease changes as well. I so admire you and your continued sharing with others so they can learn and help themselves and others. You have been and are and will be a blessing to more than you know.

    Like

  3. This was a true gift to me! I realized that some of the conversations we had were not just for my own benefit, but that there was a reciprocity there that I had not recognized. This was a lovely blog post!

    Sent from my iPad

    Like

  4. I’m delighted to “meet” you! As I transition from one aging stage to another, you inspire, guide and inform me. I want to be like you when I grow up!

    Like

  5. In my opinion, this was one of your most personal blogs that brought “Big Picture” clarity to your world. It shared how ALL of us are connected and the importance of these interdependent relationships. I’m glad to be a part of your life and look forward to many more years with you! Keep these coming and let’s find someone to organize all the blogs and put them into an electronic book version that may be distributed globally.

    Like

  6. I’m 71 and still sad and depressed about being old. I found you as I looked for help. I’m feeling a little better now. I think now that there may yet be life left that’s worth living. Thank you.

    Like

Leave a comment